Value Check – Ricky Needs Help

Ricky needs help smlr
Ricky need help. What to do?

 

 

I was working on my picture of Ricky the Rooster and got to a point where I knew something was wrong but I wasn’t sure what it was.

I came up with an idea that I think is cool and some of you might want to try it.

 

 

I took the in-process image into photoshop and switched it to black and white. Then I place the black and white copy of the original next to it and, behold, I could see where I needed to lighten and darken the picture.  (Click to enlarge the photos)

Rooster image b&w
Original Painting in Black and White
my rooster checking values
My In Process in Black and White

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

rooster areas to fixI circled the problem spots in orange on the black and white picture.

Do you see the same things I did?

The trouble areas were the chest, leg feathers and back feathers.

 

 

 

Here’s the before and after adjustments.  I hope you can see the difference and it’s helpful.

Ricky Rooster Spring smlr
After
Before
Before
One thought on “Value Check – Ricky Needs Help

  1. dawn Haylock March 23, 2015 / 11:54 pm

    Ricky looked good before. He looks superb now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

