Getting Prints Made

Framed

Getting prints made of my alcohol ink paintings opened up a whole new world for me. I’m terrible about selling my originals because I don’t want to let them go.  Last summer a fellow artist told me that the paintings don’t do anything under my bed.  That really struck me.  I guess it’s time to share my work.

I read about several different print from home companies in the AI groups but didn’t try one until a professional photographer, visiting a dear friend, told her about AdoramaPix and I decided to try them out.  There was also a suggestion to use Metallic paper.  I wanted to see.

I was so thrilled with AdoramaPix because they are fast, inexpensive and the quality is marvelous.  I was shocked how beautifully the alcohol ink blows up even to 30″ x 20″. The details are sharp and the metalic paper is amazing.

I recommended using AdoramaPix to a fellow artist but she missed a few key points that would have improved her results. I realized it took me some work to use the site effectively.  In this post I’ll take you through the steps to improve the experience.

AdoramaPix assumes you are creating projects and then adding those projects to your shopping cart.

Treats order as projects. Multiple projects per order.

Step 1. Upload your photos.  You have to Browse for your first image.  You can drop into the dotted box for your subsequent images.

Step 2. Name for the project

Step 3, 4, & 5. ImportantSelect paper, border and color corrections.

(3) I like to use the Metallic (Kodak Endura Metallic).  (4) I use No Border because it’s easier to mat that way and none of the image size is used for a white border. (5) Color Corrections – I don’t correct the color. They do a great job using the colors you already have.

Step 6 Print on the back of the image

Step 7 Print Size and Quantity – Click on Advanced Order

The site will list sizes based on the size that will print based on number of pixels.  You can add additional sizes to the grid and then select quantities.

Will show if doesn't fit
Quantities Added

Review and Adjust the Cropping of Your Pictures

They have two options to modify your image if it doesn’t fit in the size you’ve picked: Full Bleed or Full Image.  If you pick Full Bleed you’ll crop out part of your picture, Full Image will have white to fill the space.

Now that you’ve added your images to your project you can Save and Complete Later or go to the Next Step to Review your order and add to your shopping cart.

I wanted to share what I’ve learned about ordering prints online.  For those of you who have never done it, this will give you an idea of the decisions you need to make.  For those of you that have ordered prints online, I wanted to point out how to make your AdoramaPix experience better.

p.s. I don’t work for AdoramaPix.  It’s just the service that I use.  I assume the same decisions come up using other services.  I did find a comparison of services here.

Leave a Reply

