Am I Blue?

Am I Blue?
Am I Blue?

Hi Everyone,

So sorry I haven’t posted for a while. I’ve been working on the Level 3 class painting cats, dogs, and poultry. (Starts Oct 17th) Lots of fun to prepare but a lot of work.

.

.

.

.

Papillon Value Study
Papillon Value Study

I’ve come up with a fun method to figure out lights and darks.  Take a clear piece of plastic – report cover, I’m using a clear bag, and place it on top of a black and white reference photo.  Then using 4 shades of gray markers, color on the plastic. Start with the darkest areas, color those dakr gray.  Then the medium grays, light grays, and very light.  Pull out the reference photo and you get a value study!  It will show you how the lights and darks alone will create a 3-D picture.

Here’s the Papillon based on Jordan Fieldman’s photo at PaintMyPhoto.

Blue Papillon with background
Blue Papillon with background

Then I decided to use different colors to paint him/her.  I used Indigo for the darkest, LV2 (dark lavender) for the mid-darks and purple twilight for the mid-lights.

It was really fun and quick.  Here it is with a background.

Labradoodle portrait based on Sandy Scott's image at PMP
Labradoodle portrait based on Sandy Scott’s image at PMP

.

.

.

I also did the value study with warm browns for a Labradoodle. It’s a great way to get to know your reference photo.

5 thoughts on “Am I Blue?

  1. Sherri Patterson September 21, 2015 / 1:39 pm

    My pup. I may try to do him after I take this next class! I’m getting excited!

    S.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. smswain September 21, 2015 / 6:14 pm

    I love this new method! Thank you for sharing it. I’m still in a grieving process after losing my Toby 3 weeks ago, but little-by-little motivation to do any art is returning. I’m anxious to complete the intermediate class before going on.

    The first weekend of October I’m doing something I’ve never done before is a 4-day Plein Air event with a lock gallery. And I think I’m going to experiment with AI and pens ….. GULP 🙀 nothing ventured, nothing gained. I hope my mojo is back by then.

    I look forward to completing your class, and move on to the next. You’re an awesome instructor…..I so appreciate all the hard work that has gone into this. Lots of thought and experimentation put into it. Thank you

    Sue

    Like

    • sherylwil September 21, 2015 / 6:36 pm

      Sue, so glad you like this new method. We all look forward to you returning to join us. The Plein Air event sounds wonderful. May your mojo return. Thanks again for the compliments. All of the students have been wonderful and engaged and supportive of each other.

      Like

  3. barbaramiguelez September 22, 2015 / 1:07 pm

    You are so clever – thank you for making the left – brain tasks so simple for us !!

    Like

  4. sherylwil September 22, 2015 / 1:12 pm

    Thanks, Barbara. I”m always trying to find new ways to teach and simplify.

    Like

Leave a Reply

