My Kingdom For A Good White

One of the questions I get all of the time is “what do you use for a good white?”  Because Yupo stains and the inks are transluscent it’s hard to get a good answer.

I decided it was time for an experiment.  I took 15 different “whites” and tested them in the harshest environment possible – on black.  I used 4 different blacks to see if that made a difference too.  The inks were:

  1. Adirondack Pitch Black
  2. Spectrum Noir True Black Refill
  3. Copic Black 100 Refill
  4. Prismacolor Black Marker

The whites I used were:

  1. Bic White Out (why not?)

    Whites Tested
    Right click – View image to enlarge
  2. Faber Castell Pitt Artist Pen – White
  3. Derwent Graphik Line Painter – Snow
  4. Sakura Gelly Roll
  5. Molotow Acrylic
  6. Pen Touch – White
  7. Ranger White Opaque
  8. Sharpie Waterbased Paint
  9. Signo Uniball Gel Pen – 153
  10. Signo Uniball Gel Pen – Angelic
  11. White Titanium Watercolor
  12. Adirondack Snow Cap Mixative
  13. Pinatat Blanco Blanco
  14. Clorox Bleach Pen (why not?)
  15. Masking Fluid

Here’s the results:

White Test Results
Right click – View image to enlarge

Fascinating right?  Everything looked bright white when first placed on the ink.  The ink you put the white on definately makes a difference.

The Adirondack Pitch Black has lots of colors in it. I often see green, but I’ve heard about the pink.  Look how pink the whites turned! Best was #1 Bic White Out and #11 White Titanium Watercolor.  The Bic White Out Pen is really hard to control.  The other contender #8 Sharpie Waterbased is really pink in real life.

Spectrum Noir True Black Refill is a great black. #1, #8 #11 best bet. (Bic, Watercolor, Sharpie)

Copic Black Refill ate everything up. The best one was the bleach on the bottom. #1 and #11 are passing.

Prismacolor Black Marker is not as intense a black but the whites did better here. #1, #5 (Molotow) #8 and #11 were okay here.

What’s the bottom line? Test out what color and make of ink you are going to put white on. Of course the best was masking fluid.  The Bic Pen is hard to use, perhaps pour it into a palette. The Sharpie Waterbased is pretty reliable and the Titanium Watercolor works pretty well.

I guess I spend money and test stuff so you don’t have to.  Let me know if you’ve got any other contenders. I’d love to know.

2 thoughts on “My Kingdom For A Good White

  1. Cathy Brillhart November 16, 2015 / 3:03 pm

    Fantastic, Sheryl. Thank you for all the research! Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    • sherylwil November 16, 2015 / 3:09 pm

      This actually woke me up in the middle of the night. Now I can sleep.

      Like

Leave a Reply

