Does Yupo Have Two Sides?

I went to a terrific Alcohol Ink Workshop with Carol Ann Rasmussen.  She was so generous with her knowledge. I appreciate her so much.  Anyway, one of the things she demonstrated for us was to show us that Yupo has two sides – a smooth side and one with a bit of fuzziness. At her house it seemed pretty apparent that there was a difference. On one side the inks and blending solution moved a lot and on the other side, not as much. There was a distinct difference in the staining as well.

So I decided to video my experiment to see if I could replicate the difference in the two sides of the Yupo Paper. At the end I decided to also do the same experiment on Yatsutomo Mineral Paper just to see the difference.

Yupo Paper 2 Sides from Sheryl Williams on Vimeo.

I would love for you to do the same experiment and see if you can see a difference.  If so, will it change your planning for your paintings?

Here’s a neat video on the Mineral Paper. It is less expensive than Yupo and many people are trying it out:

5 thoughts on “Does Yupo Have Two Sides?

  1. Carol October 24, 2016 / 12:35 am

    I have thought the mineral paper stains more than the Yupo. It’s really hard to lift the color on the mineral paper.

    Like

  2. donnamarilyn November 13, 2016 / 3:30 pm

    Interesting experiment, Sheryl.

    I’ve been using the SAA Yupo Paper (110gsm), which is much less expensive than the other brand(s). Both sides appear to be identical.

    http://www.saa.co.uk

    You can also order it on Amazon.

    What I like is that I paid €16,09 ($17.47) for 25 sheets of A4 size, and out of each sheet I get 4 x 10cm x 15cm (ca. 4″ x 6″), which is a standard format. That works out at 17cents per ‘card’. And then double the number, because I can use both sides – e.g. for practising. Very economical.

    I’ve not tested to determine whether both sides are equally smooth (though they feel that way), but I’ll do so shortly and let you know.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sherylwil November 13, 2016 / 3:32 pm

      Hi Donna, the folks at Legion Paper – that distribute Yupo said that there are two sides to 100# but not on any of the others.

      Like

      • donnamarilyn November 13, 2016 / 6:19 pm

        Ah yes, that makes sense, Sheryl, though I don’t know whether it’s the same distributor. The one I use from SAA is #110 (and I think there’s a weight higher than that as well). I realise now too that I won’t be able to test both sides. The reason is that they feel and look identical – even under the brightest light – so I can’t tell which side would be which. 🙂

        Out of curiousity, though, I’ll drop a line to the UK address and ask about the SAA paper.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. sherylwil November 13, 2016 / 6:20 pm

    Let me know what you find out. It will be helpful to the others in the UK.

    Like

Leave a Reply

